AFSA Installs Newly Elected Board Members

The 2016 AFSA Annual General Meeting installed its first female Chairperson and newly elected Board Members. Held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on December 28 & 29, 2016 the AGM elected Mrs. Mariann Bassey Orovwuje of Friends of the Earth Africa as Chairperson of the Alliance.

Mariann Bassey

At the AGM the former Ghanaian Chairperson Mr. Bernard Guri who served the Alliance in the past years passed a shield to Mrs. Mariann symbolizing AFSA’s responsibilities in guarding African small-scale farmers, indigenous people, pastoralists, hunters and gatherers, women food producers and young people across the continent.

In her acceptance speech Mrs. Mariann promised to lead AFSA’s continuous progress over the years to come as the leading and prominent alliance in realizing a food-sovereign Africa. Mariann was a very active member of the previous board and served exceptionally during her first cycle.

The newly elected board includes Mr. Faustin Vuningoma from PELUM Regional as a Board Secretary, Mrs. Ali Aii Shatu from IPACC as a Treasurer, and Mrs. Elizabeth Mpofu from La Via Campesina, Mr. John Paul Sikeli from COPAGEN, Mrs. Josephine Atangana from PROPOAC and Mr. Chris Macoloo from World Neighbors as Board Members. In addition to fair geographical representation AFSA has now four women as board members.

New Board Members